Highlights - Convention 2025

The lowa State USBC held its 6th Annual Delegates' Convention the weekend of June 28 and 29, 2025. The final report of the Credential Committee listed three (3)) Officers, thirteen (13) Directors, six (6) Hall of Fame, seventy-five (75) delegates from twenty-three (23) associations present for a total of 97 eligible voters.

On Friday evening the Youth Committee, Budget and Finance Committee, the Tournament Committee, and the Board of Director met in preparation of the Delegates' Meeting.

The weekend kicked off Saturday morning with a meeting of youth members and their parents. Later, the youth members participated in a 9-pin tournament and a ceremony where scholarship and tournament awards were presented.

Noon on Saturday with a Workshop conducted by Tom McNulty, USBC Field Representative for our region. He discussed membership numbers and indicated that membership growth has been increasing since COVID, but it is down from the high levels of the 1970s. The USBC leadership IS NOT proposing any dues increase at this time and does not expect any increase until 2030.

The delegates were given the opportunity to Meet the Candidates who were seeking election. Ed Budzyn and Bill Ketelsen served as co-chairs of the Nominating Committee. Ed asked each candidate a series of prepared questions and those in attendance were able to ask questions of each candidate, also.

Saturday evening the Iowa State USBC celebrated by hosting the 2025 Hall of Fame Ceremony. The event honored two of our youth members who received USBC honors in May. Jack Weaver, who was awarded the ZEB SCHOLARSHIP, and Rylan Edwards, who earned the CHUCK HALL STAR of TOMORROW SCHOLARSHIP. Their scholarships were valued at \$2500 and \$6000, respectively.

The Hall of Fame Ceremony continued with the induction of Shannon Buchan from the Greater Cedar Valley Association in the category of Superior Performance, Angi Erickson from the Greater Cedar Valley Association for Superior Performance and Meritorious Service, Jack Power from Council Bluffs USBC for Meritorious Service, and the Ambassador Award was posthumously given to Randy Weber of Bellevue.

Leading up to the Election, the delegates were asked two questions:

- 1. Should the Iowa State USBC continue to offer participation items during its tournaments?
- 2. Should the Iowa State USBC offer honor awards based on average?

The purpose of the questions was to provide the Awards Committee with input for the 2026 tournaments. The delegates answered YES to both questions. The Awards Committee will be bringing options to the Fall Meeting of the Iowa State USBC Board of Directors.

The results of the election were: Shannon McHugh was re-elected as second vice president and Dallas Glick, LeRoy Heatherington, Sheri Stephans, and Mark Umsted were re-elected as directors. Iowa State USBC President Randy Naber and Iowa State USBC Association Manager Ben Weber were elected to represent Iowa at the 2026 National Convention in Reno. First vice president Seth Ketelsen and second vice president Shannon McHugh were elected as alternates.

The 6th Annual Convention ended with GOOD-BYES to Charla Wilke, Chris Birnbaum, and Jerry Everett as they retired from the board after many years of service to the Iowa State USBC association and membership.