

MT. PLEASANT USBC ASSOCIATION, INC. SPRING ANNUAL MEETING MAY 8, 2007

With due notice having been given in accordance with the Mt. Pleasant USBC Association, Inc. bylaws and a quorum being present, President Kevin Kirchner called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.

In the absence of Sergeant-at-Arms, Mendy Griffiths, Vice President Deb Roederer reported 51 members present, representing 9 leagues.

The minutes of the previous meeting were brought to the attention of the members as being printed on the back of the Annual report leaflet. Dave Adams moved approval as printed, Charlie Gotsch seconded and motion carried.

President's Report

Kevin thanked everyone for coming. He communicated his appreciation to all who helped with the Open State Tournament held at the Iris Bowling Center and also expressed thanks to the bowling lanes manager, Mark Overton, for it running smoothly. He stated that the proceeds earned from the State Open will go towards establishing a High School Bowling Program and Youth activities.

Kevin continued to explain a 55 passenger Charter bus has been reserved for as many as eight teams to go to the Open State Tournament next year at Council Bluffs. Those who have worked the State Tournament here in Mt. Pleasant will get a \$15.00 discount a seat for the bus trip. This offer will be extended for the Women's State Tournament when a bus is needed and to the youth who may need van's/buses to get to State events.

Kevin asked for any good or bad comments to be directed to him, the AM or a board member.

Kevin gave a personal thank you to the AM, Marlys Fear, for the work done at getting the new Association established and taking care of the State Tournament business.

League Reports were made from the American by Cristal Bain, Gutter Dusters by Carmen Miyoshi, Pin Pals by Lillian Bloom, Squaw by Cheryl Bloom, Town and Country by Dave Adams, Youth by Carmen Miyoshi and Guys and Dolls by Myra Jones. Each gave a brief description of activities in their leagues for the 2006-07 season.

Convention Delegate Reports were given by Scott Strothman of the BA meeting in Burlington. Lillian Bloom with help from Toi Mills recalled the events of the WBA meeting in Des Moines. Cheryl Bloom highlighted the happenings of the National Convention in Nashville, TN.

There being no Unfinished Business President Kirchner asked for new business. All Chartered Associations are required to complete and return to USBC Hea



annual Self-Assessment prior to our anniversary date of June 2007 in order to maintain the charter. Kevin asked for volunteers and those cordial persons were: Dave Adams, Deb Roederer, Lillian Bloom, Cristal Bain and Kevin Kirchner.

Lillian Bloom would like to have the association purchase books and videos to help with skills and teach bowling. The board will address the issue.

Association Manager, Marlys Fear, encouraged all to work together. Extended a Thank You to Dave Adams for a job well done with the Website and to Mark Overton for keeping a good house for all to play in. The acts of the board for the past year closed her report.

Announcement was made about a Coaching School to be held in Cedar Rapids.

The Fall meeting will be Tuesday, August 21, 2007 7:00 PM at the Iris Bowling Center.

Names will be acquired of those who donated to our Youth organization to send a "Thank You".

Deb Roederer moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 PM. Bob Roederer seconded and motion carried.

Special Awards were presented by 1st Vice President, Verne Schmitt and 2nd Vice President Deb Roederer. Verne presented certificates for the men's awards, starting with the 300 High game to Kevin Kirchner, Tony Canby and Dave Adams. High Series of 769 went to Kelly McVey and High Average of 223 to Kevin Kirchner. He named the All Star Team as Dave Adams, Tony Canby, Mark Fulton, Phil Graham, Randy Herr, Jason Hill, Kevin Kirchner, Kelly McVey, Ray Souder and Scott Strothman. Bowler of the Year, Phil Graham was presented a Plaque. Rich Arbogast read notes about each of the new Hall of Fame members before presenting them a plaque. First inductee was the late Elgin Pankoke. His wife Irene accepted the award in his honor. Jerry Bradley accepted the second Hall of Fame plaque. The late Dick Overton was the third member and son, Mark Overton accepted the award in his honor. Verne made mention of the City Tournament team winners as being Kent Baker, Gary Sammons, Bob Jensen, Denny White and Allan Miller. Doubles Div. I Champion Tony Canby and Div. II Josh Stauffer. All Events Div. I was Tony Canby and Div. II Josh Stauffer.

Deb presented the women their awards, starting with the winners of the City Tournament. Team Champions were Tami Herr, Toni Roth, Deb Roth, Kara Douglas and Jo Eichelberger. Doubles winners were Becky Kroll and Suzie Schneiderman. Singles was won by Lillian Bloom. All Events Handicap Champion was Annie Beavers and All Events Scratch went to Lillian Bloom. The 2006-07 High Game-299, High Series-727 and High Average-215 were all three attained by Cheryl Bloom. Deb presented a medallion to the 20 year members, Jane Alden, Carmen Miyoshi, Kathy Hinkle, Jo Weigle and Elsie Williams. The letter was read by Deb that nominated Cheryl Bloom for the 2007 Hall of Fame.

Youth certificates for the boys and girls High Game, Series and Average will be presented at the "Youth Party" May 18th at the Iris Bowling Center.

