Direct questions on Iowa Youth Bowling to Jolene Ketelsen  Email: youth.coordinator@iowabowl.com

Jena Edwards

Jena Edwards from Central DeWitt High School receives 2023 Iowa State USBC Scholarship


Jena will be graduating from Central DeWitt High School. While in high school she has participated in many activities including Future Business Leaders, Student Council where she serves as President this year, Speech, Band which includes marching, concert, jazz and pep band, and National Honor Society. She also played volleyball for a year and was a four-year member of the girl’s high school bowling team bowling varsity all four years and earned a captain’s start two years.
In the community she has been in 4-H, the Faith Formation committee at her church, volunteered Ragbrai, the Clinton County Fair and as a volunteer with the Skeffington Race.
Her 13-year bowling career has included being a local board of directors’ member for 4 years, along with bowling in two different leagues and volunteering to help the younger bowlers with their games. On the state level she has been a member of the Iowa State Bowling Youth Sub-Committee for 3 years where she and 3 other youth in the state represent the other bowlers around Iowa. She has been on the Iowa State USBC Board of Directors for 2 years and has been on the following committees: Memorial, social media, Youth, and Hall of Fame. She also qualified for Junior Gold in Cleveland, OH and Lansing, MI.
She will also graduate with an Associates Degree from Clinton Community College. She is planning on attending Iowa State University in Ames to study business and finance.

Eli Haack

Eli Haack from Central DeWitt High School receives 2023 Iowa State USBC Scholarship 

Eli will graduate from Central DeWitt High School. While in high school he participated in golf for 3 years, Boy’s high school bowling for 4 years, bowling varsity for three of those seasons and earned a captain’s star this year, and he was also a member of the Guy-Girl Dance Squad.
He has been a member of youth bowling for 10 years and has participated in Family Doubles, Pepsi qualifying, local youth city tournaments, and has bowled the youth State Championship tournaments for many years as well. He has also served on the local DeWitt USBC Board of Directors for the past year.
He will further his education at St. Ambrose University in Davenport where he will also bowl for the Bees. He intends to study Business and Accounting.

Jersey Lessenger

Jersey Lessenger from Louisa-Muscatine High school receives 2023 Iowa State USBC Scholarship 

Jersey will graduate from Louisa-Muscatine High school where she was active in band, Student Council, National Honor Society, Softball, Golf, Volleyball and Bowling all four years where she was a varsity member for four years.
She has bowled in two leagues during her 13-year youth bowling career. She has also participated in Pepsi qualifying, Family Doubles, City tournaments, middle school state events, along with the state youth championship tournaments for a number of years.
In high school she was on a state high school championship team for three of those years. She plans to attend Culver-Stockton College in Canton, MO to study to be a veterinarian. She will also bowl for the college as well.

James (JR) Stubbs

James (JR) Stubbs from MNW high school receives 2023 Iowa State USBC Scholarship

JR will graduation from MNW high school. He has participated in band, football, basketball, speech, and high school bowling through Fort Dodge this year where they won the 3A team championship. Outside activities included Manna Meals, Church soup suppers, Lion’s Club suppers and pancake breakfasts.
He has been a bowler in Fort Dodge for 13 years, where he has participated in Family Doubles, Pepsi qualifying, districts and state events, city tournaments, along with bowling the Iowa State Youth Championship tournaments. He was named a member of the all-city team.
He will be attending Iowa Central in Fort Dodge where he will be taking classes to become a physical therapist after transferring from Iowa Central. He will also continue bowling for the college as well.

Awards & Recognition for IAUSBC Youth Bowling

Complete list of the past winners for Coach of the year, Volunteer of the Year, Stacia Richardson Sportsmanship / Iowa State USBC YA Sportsmanship Award, and Harry Tuma / Hall of Fame Award.

Complete Past Award Winners List (PDF)

2021 Iowa State USBC